NOTICE OF INTENT
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education
Part CLXL Bulletin 137—Louisiana Early Learning Center Licensing Regulations
(LAC 28: CLX1.709, 905, 1303, 1307, 1713, 1719, 1721, 1901, and 2103}

In accordunce with R.S. 49:950, el seq., the Administrative Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for advertisement revisions to Bulletin 137—Louisiana Early Learning
Center Licensing Regulations §709 Validity of Licenses, $905.Change in License Type, §1303 Notice of Denial,
Revocation or Refusal to Renew, §1307.Appeal of Denial, Revocation or Refusal to Renew, §1713.Supervision,
§1719.0Orientation  Training, §1721.Continuing Education, §1901.General Safety Requirements and §2103.Daily
Transportation (Contract or Center Provided), The proposed policy revisions add o requirement 1o surrender invalid
licenses when o center has closed or has had its license revoked, and allow the Louisiana Department of Education
(LDE)Y 1o immediately close a center upon revocation and prohibit continued operation during the appeals process if the
LDE determines that the health and safety of children are at issue. Other revisions simplify the process for changing
license types, clarify policy and remove duplicate information,

Title 28
EDUCATION

Part CLXIL. Bulletin 137—Louisiana Early Learning Center Licensing
Regulations

Chapter 7. Licensing Process and Procedures

709, Validity of Licenses

A.-B,

C. When a business is sold, discontinued, the operation has moved to a new location, or the license has
been revoked, the existing license immediately becomes null and void and the licensee shall surrender the
existing license to the Licensing Division,

D.-H. ...

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in aceordanee with RS, 17:407.39(C) and RS, 17:407 .40,
HISTORICAL NOTE:  Promulgated by the Board of Elementary and Secondary Edvention, LR 41:624 (April 2015), effective
July 1, 2015, amended LR 42:

Chapter 9. Changes Requiring a New License
905, Change in License Type
A,

B. Tochange license type, an early learning center shall submit a written request to change its license type and a
$25 change fee to the Licensing Division,

C. Upon receipt of the written request and fee, and verification of substantial compliance with the applicable
licensing regulations, the Licensing Division shall issue a replacement license of the new type to the center and the
center shall surrender its existing license to the Licensing Division,

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with RS, 17:407.36 und RS, 17:407.38-39,
HISTORICAL NOTE:  Promulgated by the Board of Elementary and Seconduory Education, LR 41:625 (April 201 5), effective luly
1, 2015, amended LR 42,

Chapter 13. Denial, Revocation or Non-Renewal of License

1303, Notice of Denial, Revocation or Refusal to Renew
A i

B. The denial, revocation or refusal to renew shall be effective when notice is given and the center shall surrender
its existing license to the Licensing Division,

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with RS, 17:407.44,
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Bowrd of Elementary und Secondary Education, LR 41:627 (April 2013),
elfective July 1, 2015, amended LR 41:2105 (October 2015), LR: 42:,

§1307.  Appeal of Denial, Revoeation or Refusal to Renew
A - B,

C. A center may continue to operate during the appeals unless the Licensing Division determines that the health,
sifety or welfare of children in care imperatively requires immedinte closure of the center and incorporates that finding
in its notice of revocation,

D, -H.
AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with RS, 17:407.45,



HISTORICAL NOTE:  Promulgated by the Boord of Elementary und Secondary Eduention, LR 41:627 (April 2013),
effective July 1, 2005, amended LR 41:2106 (October 2015), LR 42:,

Chapter 17. Minimum Staffing Requirements and Standards
1713, Supervision
A.-F.
G, Restrooms

I, Children who are developmentally able may be permitted to go to the restroom independently at an early
learning center, provided that;

a. A stafl member is in proximity to and can see_the children to ensure immediate intervention to
safeguard a child from harm while in the restroom; and

b. individuals who are not stalf members may not enter the center restroom area while in use by any child
other than their own child.

2. Achild age four and older may be permitted to go and return from the restroom without stafT,
H -1

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with .8, 17:407 4004 3).
HISTORICAL NOTE:  Promulgated by the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41634 (April 2005), elTective July
I, 2015, amended LR 41:2107 (October 2015}, LR 42:,

81719, Orientation Training
A—-Ad

B. Within 30 calendar days of date of hire, each stafl member shall receive orientation to the additional policies
and practices of the center that at a minimum shall include:

1. =5
C.-C5

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in sccordance with RS, 17407 400AN 1) and (3).
HISTORICAL NOTE:  Promulgated by the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, LI 41:635 (April 2015), eflective July
I, 2005, amended LR 42:.

§1721. Continuing Education

A, Early learning centers shall provide opportunities for continuing education of stalf members who are left
alone with children, or who have supervisory or disciplinary anthority over children,

1. Such stalf members_of Type 11 and Type 111 centers, excluding Toster grandparents, shall obtain a
minimum of 12 clock hours of continuing education per center anniversary year,

2. Such stafl members_ol Type | centers, excluding foster grandparents, shall obtain a minimum of 3 clock
hours of continuing education per center anniversary year,

a.  Beginning July 1, 2015, such staff members of Type | centers, excluding foster grandparents, shall
obtain a minimum of 6 clock hours of continuing education per center anniversary year,

b. Beginning July 1, 2016, such staff members of Type | centers, excluding foster grandparents, shall
obtain a minimum of 9 clock hours of continuing education per center anniversary year,

¢ Beginning July 1, 2017, such staff members of Type | centers, excluding foster grandparents, shall
obtain a minimum of 12 clock hours of continuing education per center anniversary year,

B. Staff members of Type |, Type Il and Type [11 centers who are neither left alone with children, nor have
supervisory or disciplinary authority over children, shall obtain a minimum of three clock hours of continuing
education in job related topics per center’'s anniversary vear,

C. Continuing education for all types of centers shall be conducted by trainers approved by the Licensing
Division. The Licensing Division shall keep a registry of approved trainers,

. Continuing education hours shall be in the areas of

1. child development;

2. child guidance;

3. child abuse prevention;

4. emergency preparation;

5. licensing regulations;

6. learning activities;

7. health and safety,

8. shaken baby prevention;
9. CPR;



10, first aid and;
11 management/administrative education,

E,  The three hours of training by a child care health consultant on infectious diseases, health and safety, and/or
food service preparation required in LAC 5 1:XX1301.A.9 shall not count towards continuing education hours for staff
members.

F.  Pediatric first aid training and infant/child/adult CPR training may count as continuing education in the
anniversary year in which it is taken,

G, Medication administration training by a Child Care Health Consultant may count as continuing education in
the anniversary year in which it is taken.

H. Copies of certificates of completion or attendance records shall be maintained at the center and available for

inspection by the Licensing Division upon request.

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgaed in necordance with RS, 17:407.400A1) and (3 ),
HISTORICAL NOTE:  Promulgated by the Board of Elementary and Secondary Edueation, LI 41:636 (April 2015), effective July
[, 2005, amended LR 41:2108 {(October 2015), LR 42,

Chapter 19. Minimum Health, Safety, and Environment Requirements and
Standards
1901, General Safety Requirements
A~ A4,

B. Lighting, Areas used by children shall be lighted in such a way as to allow visual supervision of the children at
all times,

C.  End-of-Day Check. The entire center and play yard shall be checked after the last child departs to ensure that no
child is left at the center and this check shall be documented. Documentation shall include date, time of visual check, and
signature of the stalf conducting the visual check.

D, Sex Offender Registry. An early learning center shall register with the Louisiana State Police sex offender
registry at www.lsp.org (o receive updates when a sex offender moves within two miles of the center.

E. Centers shall not permit any individual convicted of a sex offense as defined in R.S, 15:541 to have physical
access to the center.

F. The owner or direetor of an early learning center shall immediately notify law enforcement personnel and the
Licensing Division if they have knowledge that a registered sex offender is on the premises ol the center. The verbal
report shall be followed by a written report to the Licensing Division within 24 hours,

G, All equipment used by children shall be maimtained in a clean and safe condition and in good repair,
H. Moveable equipment shall be secured and supported so that it shall not fall or tip over,
. Microwave ovens, bottle warming devices and crock pots are prohibited in areas accessible to children,

J. ltems that can be harmful to children, such s medications, poisons, cleaning supplies and chemicals, and
equipment, tools, knives and other potentially dangerous utensils, shall kept in a locked cabinet or other secure place that
ensures they are inaccessible to children,

L. Plastic bags, when not in use, regardless of purpose or use, shall be made innccessible to children.

L. Construction, remodeling, and alterations of stroctures shall be done in such a manner so as to prevent hazards
or unsale conditions, such as fumes, dust and safety hazards,

M. Strings and cords, including but not limited to those found on equipment, window coverings, televisions and
radios, shall be inaccessible to children under age four,

M. First aid supplies shall be kept at the center and shall be easily accessible to employees but not accessible to
children,

0. The center shall prohibit the use of alcohol and tobacco and the use or possession of illegal substances,
unauthorized potentially toxic substances, fireworks and firearms, and pellet and BB guns on the center premises and
notice to this effect shall be posted.

P The personal belongings of center stafl’ members shall be inaceessible 1o children,

). The center shall post a copy of the current “The Safety Box™ newsletter issued by the Louisiana Office of the
Attorney General and shall immediately remove from the early learming premises any items listed as recalled.

R, Lawn cutting services shall not oceur while children are on the playground or outside the early learning center,

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in sccordance with RS, 17:407.400A0( 1),
HISTORICAL NOTE:  Promulgated by the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, LI 41:636 (April 2015), effective July
[, 2015, nmended LR 42,



Chapter 21. Minimum Transportation Requirements and Standards
§2103,  Daily Transportation (Contract or Center Provided)
A.-C.
D, Vehicle Staff

1. A driver and at least one staff member must be in a contracted or center-provided vehicle at all times
when transporting children, and minimum child to staff ratios must be met. However, when transporting children ages
4 and older only, if the vehicle has a communication device that allows the driver to contact emergency personnel, and
the driver does not leave the vehicle while children are present in the vehicle, only the driver is required to be present
in the vehicle and minimum child to staff ratios are not required to be met,

2. A contracted driver shall be considered a staff member for purposes of this Subsection if the driver is in
compliance with the transportation regulations in Chapter 21 of this Bulletin, including but not limited to maintaining
a daily passenger log in compliance with §2103.F, and completing and documenting a visual passenger check of the
vehicle at the end of each route in compliance with §2107.A,

E.-F3.

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with RS, 17407 40(A01).
HISTORICAL NOTE:  Promulgated by the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, LI 41:642 (April 2015), effective
July 1, 2015, smended LR 42;



STATE BOARD OF ELEMENTARY AND SECONDARY EDUCATION
FAMILY IMPACT STATEMENT
(LA R.S. 49:953 and 972)

Person Preparing Statement:

Phone:

Division: i

Rule Title: Part CLXI. Bulletin 137—Louisiana Early Learning Center
Licensing R n

In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby
submitted a Fami[¥ Impact Statement on the rule proposed for adoption, repeal or amendment. All
Family Impact Statements shall be kept on file in the State Board Office which has adopted, amended,
or repealed a rule in accordance with the applicable provisions of the law relating to public records,

PLEASE RESPOND TO THE FOLLOWING:
. WILL THE PROPOSED RULE AFFECT THE STABILITY OF THE FAMILY?

X) No
Yes .
Lacks sufficient information to determine

2. WILL THE PROPOSED RULE AFFECT THE AUTHORITY AND RIGHTS OF PARENTS
REGARDING THE EDUCATION AND SUPERVISION OF THEIR CHILDREN?

(X} No
( ) Yes
() Lacks sufficient information to determine.

3. WILL THE PROPOSED RULE AFFECT THE FUNCTIONING OF THE FAMILY?

X)) No
Yes , .
Lacks sufficient information to determine

4, WILL THE PROPOSED RULE AFFECT FAMILY EARNINGS AND FAMILY BUDGET?

X)) Mo
Yes
Lacks sufficient information to determine

5. \évI!'LI_tI:JF;iEENF_'?RDF‘DSED RULE AFFECT THE BEHAVIOR AND PERSONAL RESPONSIBILITY OF

{ X} No
{ ) Yes
{ ) Lacks sufficient information to determine

6. IS THE FAMILY OR A LOCAL GOVERNMENT ABLE TO PERFORM THE FUNCTION AS
CONTAINED IN THE PROPOSED RULE?

i ) No
(X) Yes
() Lacks sufficient information to determine

Signature of Contact Person: M '.EZ[M
Date Submitted: f - c%/fﬁ




STATE BOARD OF ELEMENTARY AND SECONDARY EDUCATION
POVERTY IMPACT STATEMENT
(LA R.S. 49:973)

Person Preparing Statement: __Nancy Beben

Phone:__225-342-4991

Division:___Policy Office

Rule Title: Part CLXI. Bulletin 137—Louisi rl nter nsing Regulation

In accordance with Section 973 of Title 49 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted
a Poverty Impact Statement on the rule proposed for adoption, amendment, or repeal. All Poverty
Impact Statements shall be in writing and kept on file in the state agency which has adopted, amended,
or repealed a rule in accordance with the applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. For
the purposes of this Section, the word "poverty” means living at or below one hundred percent of the
federal poverty line.

PLEASE RESPOND TO THE FOLLOWING:

. WILL THE PROPOSED RULE AFFECT THE HOUSEHOLD INCOME, ASSETS, AND FINANCIAL
SECURITY?

ngwu

Yes
; Lacks sufficient information to determine

2. WILL THE PROPOSED RULE AFFECT EARLY CHILDHOOD DEVELOPMENT AND
PRESCHOOL THROUGH POSTSECONDARY EDUCATION DEVELOPMENT?

No
; 1 Yes
) Lacks sufficient information to determine
3. WILL THE PROPOSED RULE AFFECT EMPLOYMENT AND WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT?
X ) No
Yes
g { Lacks sufficient information to determine
4, WILL THE PROPOSED RULE AFFECT TAXES AND TAX CREDITS?
gx}No
Yes
{ Lacks sufficient information to determine

5  WILL THE PROPOSED RULE AFFECT CHILD AND DEPENDENT CARE, HOUSING, HEALTH
CARE, NUTRITION, TRANSPORTATION, AND UTILITIES ASSISTANCE?

gx}wu

Yes
; Lacks sufficient information to determine

-
Signature of Contact Person: _Aégﬁk ﬁe’/gw.
Date Submitted: ;’o}/ /4

f




Small Business Statement
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has
been considered., It is estimated that the proposed action is not expected to have a significant adverse
impact on small businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, environmental and economic
welfare factors has considered and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the drafting of the
proposed rule that will accomplish the objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the adverse
impact of the proposed rule on small businesses,



Provider Impact Statement

The proposed Rule should not have any known or foreseeable impact on providers as
defined by HCR 170 of 2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there should be no known
or foreseeable effect on:

1. the effect on the staffing level requirements or qualifications required to provide the
same level of service,

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the providers to provide the same level
of service: or

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to provide the same level of service.



Public Comments

Interested persons may submit written comments via the U.S, Mail until 4:30 p.m., February 8, 2016,
to Shan N. Davis, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, Box 94064, Capitol Station,
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064,

Shan N, Davis
Executive Director
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT Mf"‘—' LFo 1]

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES

Person
Freparing
Statement; Nancy Beben Dept.. LA Department of Education
Board of Elementary &
Secondary Education
Phone: (225) 342-4991 Office: Policy
Return Rule
Address: P. O, Box 94064 Title:; Part CLXI. Bulletin 137—Louisiana Early
Baton Rouge, LA Learning Center Licensing Requlations
Date Rule
Takes Effect: Upon final adoption by BESE
SUMMARY

In accordance with Section 953 of Title 49 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby
submitted a fiscal and economic impact statement on the rule proposed for adoption, repeal or
amendment. THE FOLLOWING STATEMENTS SUMMARIZE ATTACHED WORKSHEETS, |

THROUGH IV AND WILL BE PUBLISHED IN THE LOUISIANA REGISTER WITH THE
PROPOSED AGENCY RULE,

ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO STATE OR LOCAL
GOVERNMENTAL UNITS
(Summary)

The prososed policy revision will have no effect on costs or savings to state or local
governmantal units.

The proposed policy revisions add a requirement to surrender invalid licenses when a center
has closed or has had its license revoked, and allow the Louisiana Department of Education
(LDE) to immediately close a center upon revocation and prohibit continued operation during
the appeals process if the LDE determines that the health and safety of children are at issue.
Other revisions simplify the process for changing license types, clarify policy and remove
duplicate information,

. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE OR LOCAL

GOVERNMENTAL UNITS

(Summary)

The Department of Education may see a reduction in revenue collections as the policy changes
the fee for getting a different license to $25. The current policy requires a fee based on the
capacity of the child care center. The fees range from $25 to $250. Whether there is a
reduction or an increase will depend on the volume of requests for changes.

Il ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS

V.

OR NON-GOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

Child care providers may benefit from a reduction in the cost for getting a different license. The
proposed policy requires a fee of $25. The current policy requires a fee based on the capacity
of the child care center. The fees range from $25 to $250. Child care providers may also
experience a savings from the change in transportation policy. When transporting children four
years of age and older, a driver with a communications device will not need to be accompanied
by an exfra staff member.

The clarification of policy regarding continuing education will not result in increased hours, but
staff members who are never left alone with children and who do not have supervisory or
disciplinary authority over children are only required to have three hours of continuing
education, which is a reduction in hours for such staff. The policy revision also clarifies that
pediatric first aid/CPR training does count as continuing education hours.

ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT (Summary)
This palicy will have no effect on competition and employrnfemt.

Rzt ar gucatici— Cotn Bavse/ Stfhoueddo

Signature of Agency Head or Designee

Legislative Fiscal Officer or DesjigHee

Beth Scioneaux, Deputy Superintendent for Management and Finance
Typed Name and Title of Agency Head or Designee

1/s/1G sr/a_/;t

Date of Signature Date of Signature



FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES

The following information is required in order to assist the Legislative Fiscal Office in its review of
the fiscal and economic impact statement and to assist the appropriate legislative oversight
subcommittee in its deliberation on the proposed rule.

A. Provide a brief summary of the content of the rule (if proposed for adoption, or repeal) or a brief
summary of the change in the rule (if proposed for amendment). Attach a copy of the notice of
intent and a copy of the rule proposed for initial adoption or repeal (or, in the case of a rule
change, copies of both the current and proposed rules with amended portions indicated).

The proposed policy revisions add a requirement to surrender invalid licenses when a center
has closed or has had its license revoked, and allow the Louisiana Department of Education
(LDE) to immediately close a center upon revocation and prohibit continued operation during
the appeals process if the LDE determines that the health and safety of children are at issue.
Other revisions simplify the process for changing license types, clarify policy and remove
duplicate information.

B. Summarize the circumstances that require this action. If the Action is required by federal
regulation, attach a copy of the applicable regulation.

The revisions are required to protect the health and safety of children and to simplify and clarify
policy.

C. Compliance with Act 11 of the 1986 First Extraordinary Session.

1. Will the proposed rule change result in any increase in the expenditure of funds? If so,
specify amount and source of funding.

No

2. If the answer to (1) above is yes, has the Legislature specifically appropriated the funds
necessary for the associated expenditure increase?

(a) Yes. If yes, attach documentation.
(b) NO. If no, provide justification as to why this rule change should be published at
this time.



FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT

WORKSHEET
I. A COSTS OR SAVINGS TO STATE AGENCIES RESULTING FROM THE ACTION

PROPOSED

1. What is the anticipated increase (decrease) in costs to implement the proposed action?

COSTS FY15-16 FY16-17 FY17-18

PERSONAL SERVICES

OPERATING EXPENSES -0- -0- -0-
PROFESSIONAL SERVICES

OTHER CHARGES

EQUIPMENT

MAJOR REPAIR & CONSTR.

POSITIONS (#)
TOTAL -0- -0- -0-

2. Provide a narrative explanation of the costs or savings shown in "A. 1." including the
increase or reduction in workload or additional paperwork (number of new forms, additional
documentation, etc.) anticipated as a result of the implementation of the proposed action.
Describe all data, assumptions, and methods used in calculating these costs.

The proposed policies will have no effect on costs or savings to state or local governmental
units.

3. Sources of funding for implementing the proposed rule or rule change.

SOURCE FY15-16 FY16-17 FY17-18
STATE GENERAL FUND

AGENCY SELF-GENERATED -0- -0- -0-
DEDICATED

FEDERAL FUNDS
OTHER (Specify)

TOTAL -0- -0- 0

4. Does your agency currently have sufficient funds to implement the proposed action? If not,
how and when do you anticipate obtaining such funds?

The Department has the necessary funds to implement the proposed action.

B. COST OR SAVINGS TO LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS RESULTING FROM THE ACTION
PROPOSED

1. Provide an estimate of the anticipated impact of the proposed action on local governmental
units, including adjustments in workload and paperwork requirements. Describe all data,
assumptions and methods used in calculating this impact.

The proposed action will not result in any cost, savings, or workload adjustment to local
school systems.

2. Indicate the sources of funding of the local governmental unit that will be affected by these

costs or savings.

MNo sources of funding will be affected.



FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT

WORKSHEET

Il. EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE AND LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS

A, Whal increase (decrease) in revenues can be anticipated from the proposed action?

The Department of Education may see a reduction in revenue collections as the policy changes
the fee for getting a different license to $25. The current policy requires a fee based on the
capacity of the child care center. The fees range from $25 to $250. Whether there is a
reduction or an increase will depend on the volume of requests for changes.

REVENUE INCREASE/DECREASE  FY15-16 FY16-17 FY17-18
STATE GENERAL FUND -0- -0- -0-
AGENCY SELF GENERATED meemamsmesseenan Indeterminable

RESTRICTED FUNDS*
FEDERAL FUNDS
LOCAL FUNDS

TOTAL e ---Indeterminable
Specify the particular fund being impacted.

B. Provide a narrative explanation of each increase or decrease in revenues shown in "A"
Describe all data, assumptions, and methods used in calculating these increases or
decreases.

This proposed action will have no effect on revenue collection.



FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
WORKSHEET

COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NON-
GOVERNMENTAL GROUPS

A. What persons or non-governmental groups would be directly affected by the proposed
action? For each, provide an estimate and a narrative description of any effect on costs,
including workload adjustments and additional paperwork (number of new forms, additional
documentation, etc.), they may have to incur as a result of the proposed action.

Child care providers may benefit from a reduction in the cost for getting a different license.
The proposed policy requires a fee of $25. The current policy requires a fee based on the
capacity of the child care center. The fees range from $25 to $250. Child care providers
may also experience a savings from the change in transportation policy. When transporting
children four years of age and older, a driver with a communications device will not need to
be accompanied by an extra staff member.

The clarification of policy regarding continuing education will not result in increased hours,
but staff members who are never left alone with children and who do not have supervisory
or disciplinary authority over children are only required to have three hours of continuing
education, which is a reduction in hours for such staff. The policy revision also clarifies that
pediatric first aid/CPR training does count as continuing education hours.

B. Also provide an estimate and a narrative description of any impact on receipts and/or income
resulting from this rule or rule change to these groups,

Mo impact on income is anticipated as a result of this rule change.

. EFFECTS ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT

Identify and provide estimates of the impact of the proposed action on competition and
employment in the public and private sectors. Include a summary of any data, assumptions and
methods used in making these estimates.

The policy will have no effect on competition and employment.



COMPARISON DOCUMENT
Title 28
EDUCATION

Part CLXI. Bulletin 137—Louisiana Early Learning Center Licensing
Regulations

Chapter 7. Licensing Process and Procedures

§709,  Validity of Licenses
A -B.

C. When a business is sold, discontinued, the operation has moved to a new location, or the license has
been revoked, the ewrrent existing license immediately becomes null and void and the licensee shall surrender
D.-H. ..

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with RS, 17:407.30C) and RS, 17:407.40,
HISTORICAL NOTE:  Promulgated by the Board of Elementary and Secondary Edueation, LR 41:624 (April 2015), effective

July 1, 2015, pmended LR 42;
Chapter 9. Changes Requiring a New License
905,  Change in License Type
A,
[ Mﬂ%ﬂg%%%%%}ﬂ%%l%mmmhmw

Division.

Ao werihation ol comphisnee with corrent earh Jearning center regilations.
(,‘. Lpon receipt of l.h:r erllLl\ rcum.a: and ﬁ.e and verilication of substantial compliance with the applicable

icense of the new type to the center and the

center shall surrender its existing license to the Licensing Division

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in sceordance with RS, 17:407.36 and R.S, 17:407,38-39,
HISTORICAL NOTE:  Promulgated by the Board ol Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:625 (April 2015), effective July
1, 2005, pmended LK 42;

Chapter 13. Denial, Revocation or Non-Renewal of License
§1303,  Notice of Denial, Revoeation or Refusal to Renew
AL
H. I"hc dt:mul revucuunn or refusal to renew shall be effective when notice is given and the center shall surrender

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in secordanee with RS, 17:407 44,

HISTORICAL NOTE:  Promulgated by the Board of Elementary and Secondary Educmtion, LR 41:627 (Apil 2015),
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 41:2105 {October 2015), LR: 42:

§1307.  Appeal of Denial, Revoeation or Refusal to Renew
A -B.

C. A center may continue to upn:lmc durm&, th:: uppeulh pmce&s—m—pmﬂud—hy—the—hdmn%ﬁl%’mmm
shildren in care

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in aecordance with B8, 17:407 45,
HISTORICAL NOTE:  Promulgated by the Board of Elementary and Secondary Educmtion, LR 40627 (April 2015),
effective July 1, 2005, amended LR 41:2106 (October 2015), LR 42

Chapter 17. Minimum Staffing Requirements and Standards



§1713. Supervision
A.-F
G. Restrooms

1. Children who are developmentally able may be permitted to go to the restroom independently at an early
learning center, provided that:

a,  Astalf member is in proximity to and can see the children to ensure immediate intervention to
safeguard o child from harm while in the restroom; and

b, individuals who are not staff members may not enter the center restroom area while in use by any child
other than their own child,

2. Achild age four and older may be permitted to go and return from the restroom without staft,

H.-1

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in aceordance with RS, 17407 40(A)(3).
HISTORICAL NOTE;  Promulgaied by the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, LIR 41:634 (April 2015), efTective July
I, 2015, amended LR 41:2107 (October 2015), LR 42:,

§1719.  Orientation Training
A - A4

B. Within 30 calendar days ol date of hire, each stafl member shall receive orientation to the additional policies
and practices of the center that at a minimum shall include:

l.—-5. ...
C.-C.JA5

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with .S, 17:407 400A) 1) and (3).
HISTORICAL NOTE:  Promulgated by the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:635 (April 2001 5), effective July

1. 2005, amended LR 42:,
81721, Continuing Education
A lﬂl‘|}' learning centers shall pmvldc uppnrtunllies for Cﬂnliﬂulﬂh edunatlun of staff members who are left

1, Fhe-eenter Such staft_members of Type 11 and Type 11 centers, excluding foster grandparents, shall
obtain a minimum of 12 clock hours of_traiing-anaually_continuing education per center anniversary vear, in-the
Topries Fenipeh e s LR A el B

2. Fhe-eenter Such stafl’ members of Type | centers, excluding foster grandparents, shall obtain a minimum
of 3 clock hours of waining-anssably_ continuing education per center anniversary year-in-the-tepies—tound-n-$1719:4




6. learning activities;
7. health and safety;

8. shaken baby prevention;
10, first aid and;
E. The three hours of trainin ar (34 i [
food service i ired | i count towards continuing education hours for staft

he anniversary vear in which iti

H. Copies
inspeetion |
AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in pecordance with RS, 17407 40(AN 1) and (3).

HISTORICAL NOTE:  Promulgated by the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:636 { April 2005), efTective July
I, 2015, amended LR 41:2108 (October 2015}, LR 42;

Chapter 19. Minimum Health, Safety, and Environment Requirements and
Standards
1901, General Safety Requirements
A - Ad,

B.€&  Lighting, Areas used by children shall be lighted in such a way as to allow visual supervision of the children
at all times,

C.B End-of-Day Check, The entire center and play yard shall be checked after the last child departs to ensure that
no child is left at the center and this check shall be documented, Documentation shall include date, time of visual check,
and signature of the stafl conducting the visual check.

DE:  Sex Offender Registry, An early learning center shall register with the Louisiana State Police sex offender
registry at www.lsp.org to receive updates when a sex offender moves within two miles of the center,

Ef-  Centers shall not permit any individual convieted of o sex offense as defined in RS, 15:541 to have physical
access to the center,

F&G: The owner or director of an early learning center shall immediately notify law enforcement personnel and the
Licensing Division if they have knowledge that a registered sex offender is on the premises of the center. The verbal
report shall be followed by a written report to the Licensing Division within 24 hours,

G.H: All equipment used by children shall be maintained in a clean and safe condition and in good repair.
H.k Muoveable equipment shall be secured and supported so that it shall not fall or tip over,
Lk Microwave ovens, bottle warming devices and crock pots are prohibited in areas accessible to children,

b ltems that can be harmful to children, such as medications, poisons, cleaning supplies and chemicals, and
equipment, tools, knives and other potentially dangerous utensils, shall kept in a locked cabinet or other secure place that
ensures they are inaccessible to children,

K= Plastic bags, when not in use, regardless of purpose or use, shall be made inaccessible to children,

LM Construction, remodeling, and alterations of structures shall be done in such o manner so as o prevent
hazards or unsafe conditions, such as fumes, dust and safety hazards,

MM Strings and cords, including but not limited to those found on equipment, window coverings, televisions and
radios, shall be inaccessible to children under nge four.

M. First aid supplies shall be Kept at the center and shall be easily accessible to employees but not accessible o
children.

OB The center shall prohibit the use of alcohol and tobacco and the use or possession of illegal substances,
unauthorized potentially toxic substances, fireworks and firearms, and pellet and BB guns on the center premises and
notice to this effect shall be posted,

PG, The personal belongings of center staff members shall be inaccessible to children,

R The center shall post a copy of the current “The Safety Box" newsletter issued by the Louisiana Office of the
Attorney General and shall immediately remove from the early learning premises any items listed as recalled.

R Lawn cutting services shall not occur while children are on the playground or outside the early learning
center. |



AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in aceordance with RS, 1T:40T.400A (1),
HISTORICAL NOTE:  Promulgated by the Board of Elementary and Secondary Eduention, LIR 41,636 (April 2015), effective July

1, 2015, gmended LR 42;,
Chapter 21. Minimum Transportation Requirements and Standards

§2103. Daily Transportation (Contract or Center Provided)
A-C. ..
D. Vehicle Staff

et branisportine chabdven gider wee Four the driver-wnd ome sl persosr shall e py each comtrmvied o
center provvided veliele atall times, iv m r must be in a contracted or center-provided
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AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with LS, 17:407 40(A) 1),
HISTORICAL NOTE:  Promulgated by the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, LIR 41:642 (April 2015), effective

July 1, 2015, amended LR 42



