BESE Newsroom

BESE recognizes state Teacher and Principal of the Year finalists

June 16, 2015

At its June 2015 meetings, the Louisiana Board of Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE) recognized the 2016 Louisiana Teacher and Principal of the Year Finalists.

“Throughout Louisiana, dedicated teachers and principals make a difference in the lives of our children,” said Holly Boffy, BESE Secretary-Treasurer. “We’re pleased to have this opportunity to recognize the efforts of these exceptional leaders in producing positive outcomes for students and thank them for their service and commitment."

Each year, the Louisiana Department of Education (LDE), in partnership with Dream Teachers, Inc. and the Louisiana Association of Principals, honors the state’s most exceptional educators through the Teacher and Principal of the Year programs. These programs recognize individual teachers and teacher leaders who ensure that students meet rigorous goals and continuously seek to improve instructional and leadership practice.

2016 Teacher of the Year finalists

Caddo Parish / Captain Shreve High School

Nicole Vasquez

Collegiate Academies / Sci Academy

Evan Stoudt

Concordia Parish / Academy of Math, Science and Technology

Jennifer Jeffers

Jefferson Parish / Geraldine Boudreaux Elementary School

Pablo Menendez Pato

Lincoln Parish / Ruston High School

April Winstead

Sabine Parish / Florien High School

Donna Manual

St. Tammany Parish / Woodlake Elementary School

Kelly Stomps

Tangipahoa Parish / Westside Middle School

Averil Turner

Terrebonne Parish / Lacache Middle School

Summer Skarke

2016 Principal of the Year finalists

Algiers Charter Schools Assoc. / Martin Berman Charter of Arts and Science

Rene Lewis-Carter

Ascension Parish / Gonzales Primary School

Jaimee Williams

Calcasieu Parish / LeBlanc Middle School

Joseph David

Catahoula Parish / Harrisonburg High School

Kassandra Floyd

Evangeline Parish / James Stephens Montessori

Cheri Fontenot

Jefferson Parish / Leo E. Kerner Jr. Elementary School

Suzanne Bordelee

Rapides Parish / Alexandria Senior High School

Duane Urbina

Vernon Parish / Rosepine Elementary School

Carolyn Bosley

West Feliciana Parish / West Feliciana High School

Jim Carroll

Local school systems nominate and submit to LDE the names of up to three Teacher and Principal of the Year finalists, one each for elementary, middle and high school. After applications are scored and semi-finalists are identified, regional network teams then conduct observations of semi-finalists, and the top finalists are selected. A state selection committee composed of community and educational leaders interviews the finalists and selects the outstanding elementary, middle, high school, as well as the state Teacher and Principal of the Year.

All finalists and semi-finalists will be recognized at the 9th Annual Cecil J. Picard Educator Excellence Symposium on July 11, 2015 in Baton Rouge, and the 2016 Louisiana Teacher and Principal of the Year award winners will be announced.

Kevin Calbert, Communications Manager
(225) 342-5847  |

BESE is the administrative policymaking body for elementary and secondary schools in Louisiana. The Board sets key education initiatives and works to outline an education agenda to achieve continuous improvement of public education as measured by student and school achievement.