BESE elects Garvey as 2022 president

Dec 17, 2021, 12:19 PM by BESE Admin

At its meeting on December 15, 2021, the Louisiana State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE) elected its Board officers for 2022. Members elected District 1 BESE member James Garvey president, elected District 2 member Kira Orange Jones vice president, and elected District 3 member Sandy Holloway secretary-treasurer.

BESE elects its officers each year. The Board’s new leadership team will be officially installed and assume their officer positions at the January 2022 BESE meeting. Garvey is currently the longest-tenured BESE member and previously served as Board president in 2016. Orange Jones will serve her second consecutive term as vice president, and Holloway has led the Board as president since 2020.

BESE is composed of 11 members. Eight members are elected, one from each of the state’s eight BESE districts, and three members are appointed by the governor to represent the state at-large. Board members serve a four-year term that runs concurrently with the term of the governor.

# # #

For more information, contact:
Kevin Calbert

BESE is the administrative policymaking body for elementary and secondary schools in Louisiana. The Board sets key education initiatives and works to outline an education agenda to achieve continuous improvement of public education as measured by student and school achievement