Contact Us



Shan Davis
Executive Director
Shan.Davis@la.gov225-342-5840
Kimberly Tripeaux
Director, 8(g) Programs
Kimberly.Tripeaux@la.gov225-342-5840
Tiffany Bosley
8(g) Grant Manager
Tiffany.Bosley@la.gov225-342-8728
Kevin Calbert
Communications Manager
Kevin.Calbert@la.gov225-342-5847
Fredrica Kimble
8(g) Grant Auditor
Fredrica.Kimble@la.gov225-342-6368
Nikki Landry
Education Administrator
Nikki.Landry2@la.gov
225-342-5849
Daria Martin
BESE/8(g) Accountant Administrator
Daria.Martin@la.gov225-342-5846
Melissa Murphy
Administration and Research Associate
Melissa.Murphy@la.gov225-219-4540
Abbie Petit
Administrative Coordinator
Abigail.Petit@la.gov225-342-5840
Shannon Rawson
Records Management Administrator
Shannon.Rawson@la.gov225-342-5841
Jennifer Womack
Operations Manager
Jennifer.Womack@la.gov225-342-5848

 

Physical Address
Suite 5-190
1201 North Third Street
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
Mailing Address
P.O. Box 94064, Capital Station
Baton Rouge, LA 70804
225-342-5840
225-342-5843 (fax)


Public Records Requests

Shan Davis, Executive Director
225-342-5840
shan.davis@la.gov


Petition for Rulemaking

In accordance with R.S. 49:953(C)(1), any interested person may petition the BESE executive director in writing to adopt a new rule or amend or repeal an existing rule contained within the Louisiana Administrative Code, Title 28.

Petitions must be submitted by certified mail to the BESE office using the form linked below.

Within 90 days of receipt of the petition for rulemaking, the executive director will confirm receipt of the petition in writing, including notification regarding the date of the next scheduled BESE meeting, at which time the petition will be formally presented to BESE. Following this initial notification to the petitioner and after consulting with the Board officers for a recommendation, the petition will be formally presented to BESE at the next scheduled meeting, and upon the approval of the Board, the executive director will then:

  1. initiate procedures for processing a proposed regulation, along with the rulemaking procedures provided in R.S. 49:950 et seq., to proceed with rulemaking; or
  2. notify the petitioner in writing, of the denial to proceed with rulemaking, stating the reason(s) for the denial of BESE.

BESE Rulemaking Petition Form